Elite status entitles frequent flyer program members who maintain a specific annual mileage to special perks above and beyond free flights. Note that the exact benefits of elite status vary from program to program. Typical benefits include:

  • Priority check-in and boarding
  • Free or reduced-cost first-class upgrades
  • Access to lounge area for elite members at airports

Comparison of points required for Elite membership levels

Below is a table comparing the number of points required to reach elite or privileged status for each of the major frequent flyer programs. In most cases, the required miles need to be obtained within one “program year.”

Note that each program may award a different set of benefits at each tier. To view the official elite status requirements and benefits for these programs, please visit the frequent flyer program websites on our links page.

Program 1st Tier (Silver) 2nd Tier (Gold) 3rd Tier (Platinum) 4th Tier
Delta SkyMiles 25,000 50,000 75,000 Diamond: 125,000
US Airways 25,000 50,000 75,000 Chairman’s: 100,000
American Airlines AAdvantage Gold: 25,000 Platinum: 50,000 Executive Platinum: 100,000 n/a
United MileagePlus 25,000 50,000 75,000 Premier 1K: 100,000

Updated on 5/8/2012